Birmingham's Professional NetworkJoin Today

Meet the BYPY 2018 Winners

Laura Thursfield took the overall title of Birmingham Young Professional of the Year (BYPY) on Thursday 24th May as guests from the city’s business and professional services sector attended BPS Birmingham Future’s flagship awards ceremony at the ICC.

Each year BYPY celebrates the city’s finest talent across six award categories, with one category winner taking the highly-coveted title of Overall BYPY Winner. For the second time, 2018’s winner also received an Executive MBS from Aston University worth £20,000.

In addition to category winners, BYPY also recognised an exemplary figure and role model within the professional community with its Inspiring Leader award. Lorna Gavin, Head of Diversity, Inclusion & Corporate Responsibility at Gowling WLG, received this award.

The Aspiring Talent category, which recognises exceptional individuals aged between 16 and 24, was named as Daniel Goddard, Trainee Solicitor at Trowers & Hamlins LLP.

BYPY 2018 Winners

Overall Winner and Winner in the Finance category

Laura Thursfield, Mazars


HR, Recruitment & Training

Gishan Abeyratne, BCL Legal


Chrissie Wolfe, Irwin Mitchell


Marketing & Comms

Tru Powell, Alternative Events


Property & Construction

Kuli Bajwa, RPS Group



Sarah Mullett, Legal & General


Aspiring Talent

Daniel Goddard, Trowers and Hamlins LLP


Inspiring Leader

Lorna Gavin, Gowling WLG